Figure Skating: From the Boards

Moments that take your breath away December 31, 2010

Being just hours away from 2011 here in the American midwest, my mind is automatically drawn to what this last year will be remembered for. Of course, here at FromTheBoards, it’s all about the skating world. And while there have been dozens of memorable moments, there are bound to be some that stand out more than others. As I looked back on what’s happened in the skating world in 2010, I compiled a list of the moments that stand out most to me. This is certainly not a comprehensive list of the great moments of 2010, but it’s a list of the moments that made me remember why I love this wonderful sport and the glorious memories it can create.

So, without further ado, my “Top 10 Skating Moments of 2010”

10. Salt Lake City’s Nathan Chen wins the Novice National Title
Having shared the ice with Nathan when he was only 4, watching him find such success was a thrill. He’s got a bright future.

9. The Shibutani’s 2010-2011 Free Dance.
These two light up the arena as it is, but the pure joy in this season’s FD, combined with their elegance and polish, makes this one of my favorite programs of the year.

8. Meryl Davis and Charlie White’s “Bollywood” Original Dance.
The widespread YouTube fame of this program speaks for itself, but this is one of the most brilliantly crafted programs I’ve ever seen, and certainly one of the best of the year. Their Olympic performance was equally brilliant.

7. Adam Rippon’s “Romeo and Juliet” Short Program
First of all, it’s hard not to love Adam Rippon. But this program takes him to a whole new level – one I’m a big fan of!

6. Mirai Nagasu’s Olympic FS/World SP
I know these are really two separate moments, but they were the culmination of a roller coaster season, in which she found herself. In these programs, Mirai proved to herself what we already knew – she could skate with the best in the world!

5. Yu-Na Kim’s Olympic Tears
Yes, her victory was sweet. Truly, it was one for the record books. But what touched me more than her flawless performance, was the emotion she shared with the world. After all the pressure she was under, she did it. And we were all so proud!

4. Alissa Cizny’s Grand Prix Final Victory
Really, I could just say Alissa’s entire season thus far. However, the GP win was also a culmination of a lifetime of dreams, and an off-season of hard work and focus. Few people expected her to come back after missing the Olympic team with this kind of passion, but she’s done it. And her excitement and joy is contagious.

3. Joannie Rochette’s Olympic Short Program
I still can’t watch this performance without tears running down my face. The emotion with which she skated, and the courage she showed, endeared her to the entire world – skating fans or not. That moment will forever be remembered as a great moment in sports, and in the power of the human spirit.

2. Evan Lysacek/Frank Carroll’s Olympic Victories
I combined these two because as thrilled as I was for Evan (and as significant as his win was to American skating), I was just as thrilled for his coach, Frank Carroll. For the lifetime he’s spent and the world-class champions he has coached,  he deserved his Olympic moment, too.

1. Michelle Kwan’s Return to American Ice, thanks to Kim’s “All That Skate LA”
It’s no secret that I’m a Kwan fan. And while some may say this choice is biased, well, it is my list! I love skating for many reasons, but one reason is the emotion it elicits from those who share in its moments. The moment Michelle stepped on to the ice at the Staples Center, I felt more emotion than I could have ever imagined. It wasn’t about the competition. It wasn’t about winning or losing. It was about the magic of pouring your heart out on the ice. And it was beautiful. Thank you, Yu-Na, for bringing Michelle home.

And there you have it!

What are your favorite moments from the past year?

Be on the look out for a new blog about the state of Figure Skating heading into 2011…what’s changed, what should change again, and what can’t be changed.

Happy New Year, and thanks for your support!

Until then…

 

7 Responses to “Moments that take your breath away”

  1. nashvilledancer Says:

    Jeremy Abbot’s short and long programs at Nationals in Spokane should be up there too!

  2. Sally Praskey Says:

    Virtue and Moir’s flawless Olympic performance to Mahler. Took my breath away.

  3. patinaglace Says:

    Johnny Weir’s Olympic performances. In a few short moments, he turned me from someone who used to watch figure skating when she was a kid, to someone who can’t get enough of it. He showed me how wonderful figure skating can be, and in so doing, he gave me a year full of beauty and joy.


Leave a Reply

