Figure Skating: From the Boards

And so it begins — The season starts … now! October 18, 2011

Remember when summers were for taking a break? Relaxing in the sunshine? Reading a good book and lounging under a shade tree? Nice memories there, huh?

My summer was nothing like that.

Don’t get me wrong, it was good. I took a few fun trips, saw some quality baseball, experienced some new sports, read a few, um, chapters of a good book … all while expanding my sports writing ventures at AerysSports.com. As you may have noticed, that took me away from many things at FromTheBoards.

Yes, I had the privilege of interviewing World Champs Meryl Davis and Charlie White, National Champ Alissa Czisny, Rising Star Christina Gao … if you didn’t get to see the Summer Spotlight series, feel free to check it out now! But I was pulled away from much of the news, rumor, updates, and even the preseason buzz.

BUT …

I’m back, just like the international skating season! This weekend (can you believe it? This weekend!) we’ll get our first glimpse at what everyone has been working on. We’ll see some of the best of thh best — Davis and White, Savchenko and Szolkowy, Takahiko Kozuka, Czisny, and Carolina Kostner.

Plus, we’ll get a good idea of how Caydee Denney and John Coughlin will fair in the debut season of their highly-touted partnership. I’m not going to lie, I was skeptical of this partnership at first, more for sentimental reasons than anything else. But, having seen their programs from Nebelhorn Trophy, I can’t wait to see how they match up with top level pairs teams. Call it wishful thinking, but I fully expect them to contend for a medal.

As you all have probably heard, Evan Lysacek was originally slated to compete in Ontario this weekend. Turns out, he never confirmed that. And has, as many expected, withdrawn from the GP series. That definitely clears the way for Kozuka as the favorite (although, he probably would have been anyway).

But it also gives Douglas Razzano a chance to kick off his season in his home country, alongside Mr. Sherlock Holmes himself, Ricky Dornbush. I’m excited to see how Ricky does on the senior Grand Prix stage with a little more pressure after his National success and top-ten Worlds finish. I love what both of these guys bring to the ice, so I hope they fair well here!

Mostly, though, I’m just excited that skating’s back!

I’ve been overwhelmed with the most exciting month and a half of baseball I have ever experienced. I love every second of it. Why am I talking about baseball? Because it’s a passion. Just like skating is. And if this skating season can live up to the wild ride my baseball season has been, we’re all in for a treat!

And in case you aren’t following me on Twitter yet (ahem … @fromtheboards), I’m happy to announce that I will be writing a Fantasy Skating column for Icenetwork.com this season! If you haven’t registered your team yet, take a quick trip over there and get it done. Plus, take a peek at my Fantasy thoughts for Week 1.

With as hectic as my schedule is these days, it’s probably best to follow me on Twitter if you want to know what my coverage will be like for the GP season. I’ll likely be letting you know as I know!

I’ll leave you with this, because I think it’s fabulous.

 

Leave a Reply

