Figure Skating: From the Boards

What a wonderful way to start the day, Announcements! October 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara Wellman @ 7:00 am

When I started this blog, I had no idea where it might go.

Honestly, I thought having a handful of readers would be pretty great.

It began as a way to sharpen my writing skills, as well as provide for myself some kind of online “portfolio,” if you will — a way for people who may happen to be looking for a crazy-passionate skating fan with the skills of a trained journalist to find me when they needed help  to cover this beautiful sport.

Or other sports.

Or … well, whatever might come of it, really.

That is, of course, if anyone ever actually found it at all.

I had this idea, then, to cover events live via Twitter. I’d seen it done before, but never tried my hand at it. I figured, my experience in live sports broadcasting would give me some direction, and perhaps I could actually provide useful info to skating fans unable to watch the events live. Skating fans like, say, Sarah Hughes.

(Yes, way cool.)

It wasn’t until I wrote a piece on Yuna Kim’s skating show coming to the US that I realized the international reach I’d somehow developed. I mean, I knew Korean fans were amazing, but I didn’t figure they’d have much interest in what I had to say! Boy, was I shocked to see the site hits for the next week.

Maybe this little skating blog was turning into something, after all.

Since then, I’ve had the amazing opportunity to interview skaters such as Sarah Hughes, Meryl Davis and Charlie White, Nathan Chen, Christina Gao, and more.

(Again, way cool.)

I’ve had the privilege of “watching” live with all of you, sharing immediate thoughts on Twitter, and expanding on those conversations here at From The Boards.

See, I’m a skating fan. I absolutely adore this sport and the coaches and athletes in it. I love the moments this sport creates — Alissa Czisny’s comeback season, Caitlin Yankowskas and John Coughlin’s magic in their National Title winning skates, the battle for dominance between Patrick Chan and Daisuke Takahashi, the newcomers like Javier Fernandez and Elizaveta Tuktamisheva, and the returns of veterans like Yuna Kim, Evan Lysacek, Johnny Weir … you get the idea.

But I’m also a writer … slash reporter, slash TV host, slash producer … again, you get the point! And the thought of working in this crazy, unpredictable world is thrilling.

Last season, Icenetwork reached out and asked me to be their “Fantasy Expert” for US Figure Skating’s “Fantasy Skating” game.

(You guessed it, way cool.)

And this year, Icenetwork reached out again.

Don’t worry, From The Boards isn’t going anywhere. But, there are a few events this season I won’t be covering in quite so much detail (and not so “live”) here at FTB because, well, I’ll actually be there, live and in person, working with the Icenetwork team.

Starting with Skate America.

Yep, as you read this, I’m on a plane headed for Seattle where I’ll meet up with the crew and head off to some of today’s practice sessions. And I couldn’t be more thrilled.

(Brace yourselves for a little, tiny, mushy moment. It won’t last long, I promise!)

This is the part where I say thank you. To you. And you. Yes, you, too.

Thank you for reading what I write, watching my silly video blogs, tweeting me your thoughts, voting in the FTB polls, correcting me when I miss an error or two … you gave me reason to keep writing. You kept following. And now, I’m getting the chance to be a part of two things I genuinely love: skating, and broadcasting.

One last time: WAY. COOL.

So, I’ll update as I can. Make sure you’re following me (@fromtheboards) and Icenetwork (@icenetwork) on twitter for all the action from Skate America. And then, of course, watch Icenetwork for full coverage from Kent! It’s going to be a fantastic event. Washington knows how to do this skating thing right!

 

One Response to “What a wonderful way to start the day, Announcements!”

  1. Thanks for a few moments of your time at SA. Always joyful to talk with someone who loves this as much as I do. I am always told life is perfect if you go to work every day and love what you are doing. You Rock!


Leave a Reply

